Life is full of risks. Some are worth taking, some are not, like driving uninsured. Driving without insurance in Texas is a very risky affair and can end up costing you a lot of money.
Here are some of the penalties you can receive for being caught driving around Texas uninsured:
Simply getting caught with no insurance
Texas, like other states, requires all motorists to have a stated minimum of liability coverage which ranges from $25,000 to $60,000, for both personal injury and property damage. Although some drivers carry these legal minimums, many are uninsured. If you belong to this group of people, here’s what can happen when you get caught:
The first time you’re busted for driving without valid insurance in Texas, you’re probably not going to be subjected to a fine and if you are, it will be a relatively small amount: usually between $175 and $350. However, another surcharge of $250 is added to your annual driver’s license fee for at least three years. Other fees also apply, which means as a first-time offender, you could end up having to pay between $925 and $1,100.
The figures rise significantly for subsequent convictions and you also risk having your license revoked and your car confiscated altogether. In this case, it would be very difficult for you to get your license reinstated and your vehicle back.
The really frightening numbers
In Texas, you can be held 100% liable for all property damage and physical injury occurring from a vehicle accident you caused. This can cost you big money!
To avoid paying hefty fines that cost in the hundreds or even thousands of dollars, make sure your policy is up-to-date and you carry your legal minimums at all times. Searching for legal minimums that won’t hurt your budget? EZ Insurance Agency provides affordable insurance, and we aim to place the customer above all else. Call us for a free quote and expert advice today!